The role of secure identities in the digital transformation

Rolle Sicherer Identitäten

Find out why it's worthwhile investing in secure identities, especially when it comes to the digital transformation of companies.

State-of-the-art technologies and internetworking in the Internet of Things are essential for the digital transformation. That's because the digitisation of the business world is essentially based on connected relationships between companies and their customers, partners and their own staff.

If it can be connected, then it will be connected in the future

It is not just people who communicate electronically today. Workpieces, materials and machines are being digitised and connected: robots steer production, products 'talk' to machines, and models are produced on 3D printers. Everything that can be connected to each other or interconnected with the Internet will be connected, from cars, to escalators, heaters, tractors and washing machines, right down to toothbrushes. But for these communication processes to run smoothly, everything involved must have its own unambiguous identity. 

Internetworking in the Internet of Things brings with it a huge market, even for small and medium-sized enterprises. With the emergence of the 'smart home', for instance, manufacturers of traditional technical building systems are increasingly offering products that are connected to the Internet and can be controlled, for example, using a smart phone app. According to estimates by digital association Bitkom, smart and interconnected sensors and devices will be used in one million German households by 2020. Cloud computing is also contributing to the further interconnection of the economy. Bitkom estimates that 2015 was the first year in which a majority of German companies (54 percent) used cloud computing. Now that small and medium-sized enterprises have opened up to this concept, cloud computing has become a significant application in digitisation, according to the association.

2020: 50 billion connected devices on the Internet

And yet it is still early days for a truly connected world. According to Bitkom, almost every second company in the producing sector (46 percent) uses Industry 4.0 applications, while another 19 percent are already planning on using them too. Almost two thirds (65 percent) of industrial companies in Germany are now active in the field of Industry 4.0. Just under a quarter (23 percent) of those polled did not have any precise Industry 4.0 approach, but could imagine using such applications in the future. Estimates by market researchers show that more than six billion objects will already be connected to the Internet in the current year. By 2020, it is said that this figure could even rise to 50 billion.

But there is another side to this story. Growing digitisation and internetworking mean that data is stored mostly in electronic form – whether on internal or external storage media. These developments also mean that company networks are permanently connected to the Internet, so that there is a higher risk of falling prey to cyber attacks. Successful attacks can quickly threaten a company's entire existence. This means that companies have to protect themselves. In a video statement on her website in March 2016, Germany's Chancellor Angela Merkel said: "We are all called on to ensure data security; the government must act, but companies themselves must also be on their guard. That's why the issue of data security in the economy is so very important."

Internetworking calls for secure identities

Secure identities are the key to greater security for data, processes, electronic communications and connected systems. In a world of connected systems, it must be ensured that all the process participants are in fact who or what they claim to be, especially if the party at the other end is not physically visible or if machines are involved in the process. Secure identities can do just that.

A secure identity cannot be manipulated or forged, nor can it be misused. It guarantees that somebody is actually who they claim to be.

Secure digital identities are used whenever processes are electronically controlled and data processed. They are important when it comes to reliable visitor or access management, or when internal and external communications are to be protected. They are also used in production areas where individual process steps are secured. Reliable identity management at a company warrants security, compliance with rules and efficiency. This begins with a secure log-in on the website and also applies in the same way to checking customer identities at the point of sale. It also includes the many workflows at a company that are used to record and check the identities of staff, visitors and business partners in a manner that complies with law.

Secure identities as part of the digitisation strategy

Secure identities are hence a central part of the digital transformation. Companies would do well to take a close look at which workflows can be digitised and to draw up a corresponding digitisation strategy. The use of secure identities should play a central role in this strategy, i.e. just to be truly safe.  

Digital identities

What is digital identity?

Internet of Things

Objects also need secure identities

In Industry 4.0, identity management is needed for individuals, processes and objects.

Internet of Things

The Internet of Things – network of networks

In the Internet of Things, objects have a unique identity and are located in a smart environment. How a vision becomes reality.

Die Rolle Sicherer Identitäten beim digitalen Wandel

Rolle Sicherer Identitäten

Essentiell für die digitale Transformation sind moderne Technologien und die Vernetzung im Internet der Dinge.

Nicht nur Menschen kommunizieren elektronisch. Auch Werkstücke, Materialien und Maschinen werden digitalisiert und vernetzt: Roboter steuern die Fertigung, Produkte „sprechen“ mit Maschinen und Modelle entstehen im 3D-Drucker. Alles, was untereinander oder mit dem Internet vernetzt werden kann, wird auch vernetzt – vom Auto über Rolltreppen, Heizkörper, Traktoren und Waschmaschinen bis hin zur Zahnbürste. Damit die Kommunikationsprozesse reibungslos verlaufen, müssen die Identitäten aller Beteiligten eindeutig sein.

Die Vernetzung im Internet der Dinge bedeutet einen riesigen Markt auch für kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen. So bieten etwa im Zuge des „Smart Home“ immer mehr Hersteller klassischer Haustechnik Produkte an, die per Internet verbunden sind und beispielsweise über eine Smartphone-App gesteuert werden können. Nach Schätzungen des Digitalverbands Bitkom werden bis zum Jahr 2020 voraussichtlich in einer Million deutscher Haushalte intelligente und vernetzte Sensoren oder Geräte eingesetzt. Auch Cloud-Computing trägt zur weiteren Vernetzung der Wirtschaft bei: Im Jahr 2015 hat nach Bitkom-Angaben erstmals eine Mehrheit der deutschen Unternehmen (54 Prozent) Cloud-Computing eingesetzt. Seit der Mittelstand seine Zurückhaltung bei diesem Thema abgelegt habe, sei Cloud-Computing eine bedeutende Applikation der Digitalisierung geworden, so der Verband.

2020: 50 Milliarden vernetzte Gegenstände im Internet

Heute stehen wir dennoch erst am Anfang einer wirklich vernetzten Welt. Laut Bitkom nutzt inzwischen fast jedes zweite Unternehmen aus dem produzierenden Gewerbe (46 Prozent) Industrie-4.0-Anwendungen, weitere 19 Prozent haben konkrete Pläne für den Einsatz. Fast zwei Drittel der deutschen Industrieunternehmen (65 Prozent) sind bereits im Bereich Industrie 4.0 aktiv. Knapp ein Viertel der Befragten (23 Prozent) hat noch keinen genauen Industrie-4.0-Ansatz, kann sich aber vorstellen, künftig entsprechende Anwendungen zu nutzen. Nach Schätzungen von Marktforschern werden schon im laufenden Jahr weltweit mehr als sechs Milliarden Gegenstände mit dem Internet verbunden sein. Bis 2020 soll diese Zahl sogar auf 50 Milliarden steigen.

Die Kehrseite der Medaille: Mit der zunehmenden Digitalisierung und Vernetzung werden Daten zum Großteil elektronisch gespeichert – ob auf internen oder externen Speichermedien. Darüber hinaus sind Unternehmensnetzwerke inzwischen permanent mit dem Internet verbunden. Damit steigt die Gefahr, Opfer von Cyberangriffen zu werden. Erfolgreiche Angriffe können schnell die gesamte Existenz eines Unternehmens gefährden. Davor müssen sich Unternehmen schützen. Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel sagte im März 2016 in einem Videostatement auf ihrer Website: „Wir müssen alle für Datensicherheit sorgen; die Regierung muss das tun, aber die Unternehmen selbst müssen auch wachsam sein. Deshalb brauchen wir hier auch das Thema Datensicherheit in der Wirtschaft in ganz besonderer Weise.“

Vernetzung benötigt Sichere Identitäten

Der Schlüssel zu mehr Sicherheit bei Daten, Prozessen, elektronischer Kommunikation und vernetzten Systemen sind Sichere Identitäten. In einer Welt der vernetzten Systeme muss sichergestellt werden, dass alle Prozessbeteiligten tatsächlich diejenigen sind, für die sie sich ausgeben. Insbesondere dann, wenn man sein Gegenüber nicht physisch sehen kann oder Maschinen am Prozess beteiligt sind. Das gelingt auf Basis von abgesicherten Identitäten.
Eine Sichere Identität kann nicht manipuliert oder gefälscht und für missbräuchliche Zwecke verwendet werden kann. Sie garantiert, dass jemand tatsächlich der ist, für den er sich ausgibt.

Sichere digitale Identitäten kommen überall dort zum Einsatz, wo Prozesse elektronisch gesteuert und Daten verarbeitet werden. Sie spielen eine Rolle beim verlässlichen Besucher- und Zugangsmanagement sowie beim Schutz der internen und externen Kommunikation und reichen weit hinein in die produktiven Bereiche, in denen einzelne Prozessschritte abgesichert werden. Ein zuverlässiges Management der Identitäten in Unternehmen gewährleistet Sicherheit, Regelkonformität und Effizienz. Das fängt auf der Website mit einem sicheren Log-in an und gilt ebenso für die Prüfung von Kundenidentitäten am Point of Sale sowie für zahlreiche Abläufe im Unternehmen, mit denen die Identitäten von Mitarbeitern, Besuchern und Geschäftspartnern rechtssicher erfasst und geprüft werden.

Sichere Identitäten in Digitalisierungsstrategie aufnehmen

Sichere Identitäten sind also ein zentraler Baustein des digitalen Wandels. Unternehmen sind gut damit beraten, sich genau anzusehen, welche Abläufe digitalisiert werden können, und eine entsprechende Digitalisierungsstrategie aufzusetzen. Dabei sollte der Einsatz Sicherer Identitäten eine wesentliche Rolle spielen – quasi um wirklich ganz sicher zu gehen.

Digitale Identitäten

Was ist eine digitale Identität?

Internet der Dinge

Auch Objekte brauchen Sichere Identitäten

Industrie 4.0 braucht ein Identitätsmanagement für Personen, Prozesse und Objekte.

Internet der Dinge

Das Internet der Dinge – Netzwerk der Netze

Im Internet der Dinge besitzen Objekte eine eindeutige Identität und befinden sich in einem intelligenten Umfeld. Wie eine Vision Wirklichkeit wird.